You Have Been Warned.

Web

Yes, it would be easier to just sit on your ass all day than to try to make things. Yes, it would be less pretentious not to call yourself an artist. I know this guy, he is clearly an artist, but he refuses to call himself one. I know the feeling. It took years for me to say it out loud. I thought that if I said it I would have to prove something to someone I didn’t really care to prove anything to. That’s how it usually works. Because the people you don’t need to prove anything to… friends, family, they don’t give a shit what you call yourself. It’s always the people you don’t care about, or shouldn’t care about, that are waiting to pounce on you. Making art is like getting a haircut. For years I shaved my head because I just didn’t want to think about what hair style represented me. Same thing with my usual black and simple clothing. I rather not think about how that is supposed to define me. I hate that nonsense. Do I define what I make, or does what I make define me? Oh for crying out loud, who the fuck cares! Just make something! Anything! Have fun doing it! Make something boring, or shocking, or odd, or commercial, or with no demographic at all, just make something goddamn it. Leave something behind, because you aren’t going to live forever. Yes, once you start making things you are going to start doubting yourself. There’s almost no way around that. You’ll make something and put it out there and start to wonder if it couldn’t perhaps be better, or smarter, or have a more direct approach or a more cryptic one and before you know it you are a mental wreck. Good for you. Embrace it. Chances are that you’ll develop if you keep at it, and guess what? It will probably take your entire life. You might be like most of us and just not be an artistic genius and there will definitely always be someone better than you. But if you do nothing you will stay nothing. So here’s my warning: ART CAUSES DOUBT, MENTAL DISORDERS, AND MAY COMPLICATE EVERYTHING. Isn’t it great?

Here are some vinyl stickers to remind you of this simple fact:

1.38″H x 4.25″W

To order 4 stickers for $1.00 go to the ordering page

or send cash to: marc calvary 41-23 53rd ave. #1R woodside, ny 11377

Published by: marc calvary

eternally residing in new york, the carbon based mistake currently takes the form of zines, photography, writing, blasphemy, design, art, and printing. thecarbonbasedmistake.com - publish and be damned

5 Comments

5 thoughts on “You Have Been Warned.”

  1. Marc, I really like this post! Thanks for writing it:) I’m going to show my partner, he’s a fucking artist but pansy ass about it. I do say that with love. Xoxo, Marc

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. I like the poster you sent me. “Art is anything you can get away with…Andy Warhol” …he didn’t say anything good or bad, just anything. Sounds right to me. I’m not being bias but you are an excellent writer. You write like people think. I don’t think you know that you are.

  3. the first part of this made me think of people being wishywashy about calling themselves a feminist. then i thought, we make art instead of babies. then i thought, yay!

This website is inactive, I have moved to www.thecarbonbasedmistake.com

